Winona Municipal Band Welcomes New Director

By Maynard Johnson

The Winona Municipal Band will welcome a new director to lead the ensemble in its Centennial concert season. Levi Lundak will take over the responsibilities as director starting with the Memorial Day appearance on May 25, 2015.

A former resident of Winona and current musician in the band, Mr. Lundak brings a wealth of experience to the podium. Levi Lundak currently serves as the Assistant Principal of Riverside Elementary School in Rochester, MN. Prior to this position, Levi worked as an educator in the Rochester Public Schools as an Assistant Administrator at Kellogg Middle School and the Director of Bands at Century High School. During his 8 years with the Century Band program, where his responsibilities included three concert bands, jazz band, pep band, and marching band, Levi led the bands to festivals, tours, and integrated them as an active part of the Rochester Century community. Before his time in the Rochester Public Schools, Levi was the Director of Bands at Humboldt High School in St. Paul, MN. Levi holds a B.M. degree from Winona State University (2001) and a M.S. degree in Educational Leadership, also from Winona State University (2009).

Levi was a resident of Winona from 1987 until moving to Rochester in 2004. During his time in Winona, Levi attended the Winona Area Public Schools (Winona Senior High School) and Winona State University. He played trombone with the Winona Brass Band intermittently from 1994-2008. Levi joined the Winona Municipal Band in 1994 and has played trombone or bass trombone in every season since joining. This year will mark his 22nd season with the Municipal Band, and his first out of the ‘back row’.

The Winona Municipal Band members and community would like to thank Mr. Myron Haug for his generous commitment of time and energy to the ensemble in the last four years, and we wish him well in future endeavors. We may see him appear as a sub in the tuba section from time to time.

Mr. Lundak succeeds Mr. Myron Haug and is the band’s eighth director in its 100-year history. Previous directors include: George Colburn (1915-1917), Emile Michaux (1918-1919), Orville Reese (1920-1940), Stanley Streuber (interim director following Mr. Reese’s death), Harold Edstrom (1941-1972), Richard Lindner (1973-2011), and Myron Haug (2011-2014). Started in 1915, the band has had a long tradition of excellence. Audience members will hear the tradition continue at the centennial concerts this summer.